Procrastination…putting off impending tasks to a later time, sometimes to the “last minute” before the deadline….

Who isn’t guilty of it… procrastinating…?  Well, I seem to have waited, arguably until the last possible minute to update y’all.  Even as I type this, the minutes seem to have morphed on into another day, Monday… yikes!

We have been overwhelmed by the number of you, sweet friends, that have signed up to be tested for kidney donation.  Words cannot adequately express our appreciation for your willingness.  They are still testing people.  This testing process has been quite testing.  Haha.  It is a slow process and they send kits out in batches of 3-4 at a time. If you have signed up, and are waiting… I feel confident that you are in queue.  If you have any follow up questions, please contact the Living Kidney Donation Coordinator.  She is very nice and very helpful!

The busyness of the holiday season, preparations, travel, festivities and family time I have found myself struggling to push our “big picture” to the back of my mind.  These days, it is a constant struggle.  As these last few months have flown by, we have been watching Jason’s health decline.  Fatigue.  Nausea.  It seems almost one by one we have watched the digits measuring kidney function get smaller and smaller.  Even though it is not evident to many, it is so obvious to me, in our home, that we are where we are.  It is hard to watch someone you love dearly have a decline in their health; as many of you know, all too well.

Tomorrow morning(Monday), Jason will have surgery to put a catheter in place in preparation for dialysis.  Of course, to hear Jason describe it “stab wounds to the gut”…. BLESS him.  For a big, tough guy he is decidedly quite alarmed when it comes to even a flu shot!  You can only imagine the anxiety level at our house right now!  That being said, I am taken back to the “big picture.”

This morning the lesson at church brought up a very dear reminder for me.  If you will allow some paraphrasing, Hebrews 10:23 – “Hold Unswervingly to your hope; he who promises is faithful.”  God is faithful.  Y’all, did you hear that??  GOD is faithful.  GOD IS FAITHFUL!!!!  Do not lose your faith, your hope, stand strong in Him.  Now, it has been 2 years since we were in the hospital with Emma.  This very verse was one of the few that I wrote on my heart.  So timely that on this very day, this day before surgery, God sent me a word.  A reminder that He is faithful. He put this verse, and this lesson on the heart of our teacher this morning.  He knew just what I needed and met me right were I was, today.  In the midst of anxiety and worry about things that are way out of my control, He knew.  God is so faithful.  He loves us so much and cares for every single little detail in our lives, and of our hearts.  This reminder lets me know, again – because sometimes I need at least a little reminder, that He is in complete control.

My prayer continues to be for healing for Jason. I will hold unswervingly to my hope and my faith in Christ for I know that He can do great things!

Let us not give way to our circumstances and lose focus on this season, the “big picture”, and what it truly means!  Christmas can be a time of re-birth. Renewed commitment.  A time of celebration.  New beginnings.  A fresh start.  As we celebrate the birth of a sweet baby, it is so much more than just cheery and sometimes forced get togethers.  It is a time of rejoicing in the birth of our Savior!  He came just so he could die for you and for me!  What great love! I am so grateful for the chance that Christ gave me.  He gave me a fresh start, that through my faith in Him, I am saved by His grace.

What is your “big picture”? I could not do it without Him.  Could not.  Can you?

